List of Minecraft Characters

Minecraft is a sandbox video game created and designed by Swedish game designer Markus ‘Notch‘ Persson, maintained by Mojang AB, and part of Microsoft Studios. It was initially created for the PC but has since been ported to various gaming consoles, including the Xbox 360. The creative and building aspects of Minecraft allow players to build constructions out of textured cubes in a 3D procedurally generated world. Other activities in the game include exploration, resource gathering, crafting and combat. Gameplay in its commercial release has two principal modes: survival mode and creative mode. There is also a third gameplay mode named hardcore (4 difficulty levels) which provides a stricter ruleset than survival mode where dying results in deletion of your world when singleplayer and banishment when in multiplayer.

Minecraft Characters: The Player

The player is the protagonist in Minecraft, who finds themselves naked and without items after a storm destroys their house and kills their family. They may collect resources, craft tools, battle mobs of the night – zombies, skeletons, spiders, Ninjas, creepers and “hostile mobs”, grow plants and explore the world at their leisure. There are different options of play available to a player based on what kind of game they want to play: survival mode requires players to collect all of their materials used for gameplay such as food, wood or stone while avoiding starvation, attacks from monsters or having an insufficient supply of air. In contrast with this, there is a creative mode which gives you unlimited resources to build with and the ability to fly.

Minecraft Characters: Endermen

Endermen are hooded humanoids that spawn in darkness, when near the player or in daytime when the sun is below the block they are standing on. They never fight back when attacked by players except if their legs are attacked before killing them. Endermen do not drop items upon death unlike most mobs in Minecraft so it is not possible to obtain an enderman’s kill drops without exploiting game rules or mods. A recent update added particles above all types of entities including Mobs known as “player head”. These show which player is currently occupying a mob in no-clip mode (transparency), this can be easily replicated by summoning an enderman and going into ‘spectator mode’ (c key) then typing in a cheat to show all entities with “player head” from the cheats menu.

Minecraft Characters: The Ender Dragon

The dragon is an end-game boss mob that can only be killed by players after they have completed the game’s story three times. They attack primarily by flying around and shooting fireballs at nearby players, but otherwise do not pose a huge threat to an experienced player. A dragon will spawn naturally in one of several different colours depending on their difficulty level – white, green, blue or purple – with further colour variations becoming more difficult to encounter as their difficulty level increases. They also award a hefty sum of experience when killed, which can allow for fast levelling up in the late game. Dragons are highly re-spawnable, requiring killed players to wait four minutes until another can spawn. 

Minecraft Characters: Villagers

Villagers are artificially intelligent passive NPCs that will breed and expand their population by trading with the player. They possess 1–2 random trades which they will offer regularly if a villager has his need meter filled (except at night). The second trade is not available unless the first has been given. Each villager must be given time to pass after trading before they can offer another trade, but it’s possible to force them to feed even while trading simply by giving them food again before they finish completing their last trade. Some villagers have unlisted trades as well as their regular trade which can be accessed when right-clicking them. 


This article lists a number of other Minecraft characters as well – these include the protagonist, Endermen, The Ender Dragon and Villagers.

Leave a Comment